top of page

Rovers Begin Pre-Season Action This Weekend

Shamrock Rovers get their 2023 pre-season schedule underway this coming weekend, with a total of 7 pre-season friendlies - as well as the President Cup - to be played before the Hoops commence their 2023 League of Ireland season away to Sligo Rovers on February 18th.

Kicking off their pre-season is the annual Molly O'Toole Cup which takes place this-coming Saturday (14th January), as Stephen Bradley's side welcome Lucan United to our Roadstone academy complex. Kick-off is 3pm, and supporters must purchase a ticket prior to the game. Tickets cost €5 for adults, while U16s go free. Tickets can be purchased through the link below:

After the clash against Lucan, Rovers will play 6 games over three separate weekends with two games being played each Saturday. These games will consist of a Rovers XI made up of both first-team players and U19s for each game. On Saturday 21st January, the Hoops will welcome two First Division sides in Bray Wanderers & Cobh Ramblers to Roadstone. The Bray game will kick-off at 11am, whilst a kick-off time is yet to-be-confirmed for the Cobh game.

On Saturday 28th January, Rovers play two more friendlies in our Roadstone academy, as Treaty United & Wexford FC travel to the capital. Kick-off against Treaty is at 11am, whilst the clash against Wexford takes place at 4pm.

On the 4th February, the Hoops welcome Waterford FC to Roadstone for a midday (12pm) kick-off, before a Rovers XI travel west to face Galway United in Eamonn Deacy Park at 6pm that evening, in what will be Rovers' final pre-season fixture.

The Hoops travel North the following week (Friday 10th February) to face FAI Cup winners Derry City in the annual Presidents Cup Clash. Kick-off time TBC for this clash in the Ryan McBride Brandywell Stadium closer to the fixture.

Shamrock Rovers 2023 pre-season schedule:

  1. Lucan United (H) - 14th January at 3pm. Roadstone Academy

  2. Bray Wanderers (H) - 21st January at 11am. Roadstone Academy

  3. Cobh Ramblers (H) - 21st January at TBC. Roadstone Academy

  4. Treaty United (H) - 28th January at 11am. Roadstone Academy

  5. Wexford FC (H) - 28th January at 4pm. Roadstone Academy

  6. Waterford FC (H) - 4th February at midday (12pm). Roadstone Academy

  7. Galway United (A) - 4th February at 6pm. Eamonn Deacy Park

Presidents Cup:

Derry City (A) - 10th February at TBC. Ryan McBride Brandywell Stadium

*Photo Credit: Shamrock Rovers FC/Official Twitter Account*

190 views0 comments
bottom of page